Meet the City Commission

About the City Commission

The governing and legislative body of the city is the City Commission, comprised of five commissioners who are elected at-large on a non-partisan basis. The commission determines all matters of policy and approves all city ordinances and resolutions, as well as adopts the annual city budget.

Each year, the commission elects one of its members to serve as mayor. The mayor presides over commission meetings, has full voting rights, as do other commissioners, but has no veto power. 

Elections are held every other year in odd-numbered years. Three City Commission positions are chosen at each election. The two highest vote recipients receive four-year terms while the third highest vote recipient receives a two-year term.

Related Information

City Commission Meeting Dates

  • 2023 Schedule
    • May 16, 2023, meeting time has changed from 6:00 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.
  1. Agendas & Minutes
  2. Meeting Information
  3. City Commission Filing Info
  4. Candidate Information